14 members of UN Security Council censure Zionist settlements

All the members of the UN Security Council, except the United States, have censured the Israeli regime over its plan to build new settler units, calling for an immediate halt to the illegal settlement activities.

According to Press TV, India’s Ambassador to the UN Hardeep Singh Puri said the 14 Council members expressed their opposition to Zionist regime’s recent move in four separate statements on Wednesday. Washington was likely to foil the efforts to reach a solution on the issue using its veto power.
The statements were made by the eight Council members from the Non-Aligned Movement, the four European members, Russia and China.
On Wednesday, Israeli regime issued tenders for 1,048 new settler units in East al-Quds and the occupied West Bank.
On the same day, Zionist regime officials also approved the construction of over 2,600 new settler units, which are planned to be built in Givat HaMatos, a village located in the south of al-Quds.
In their joint statement, the European members of the Security Council, including Germany, the UK, France and Portugal, expressed concern over the Israeli regime’s decision for illegal construction in E1, which is a sensitive zone between East al-Quds and the West Bank and its expansion has been on Israeli regime’s agenda since the 1990s.
The European members stated that they “strongly oppose” the Israeli regime settlement plans.
China’s UN ambassador, Wang Min, also said Beijing expresses “serious concern over the announcement of settlement construction in the E1 area, and Israeli regime’s suspension of transfers of tax payments to the Palestinian side.”

Back to top button