Dara’a Front Engulfed in Violence; Firefights Reported All Over the Province


The Dara’a front has turned into the bloodiest battle in Syria, with firefights reported from all over the province; it has seen an escalation of bloodshed due to the presence of violence in the neighboring Al-Quneitra Governorate. The primary battles are being fought at the city of Sheikh Miskeen and the Deir Al-‘Adrass area, where both the Al-Nusra Front (Jabhat Al-Nusra) and the Syrian Arab Army’s (SAA) 5th and 7th Divisions have traded offensives.

At Sheikh Miskeen, the 12 Brigade of the 5th Division has carried out multiple attacks on Al-Nusra Front positions in the South District, but there has been little progress over the last few days due to the latter’s strong fortifications. Meanwhile at Battalion 82, the Al-Nusra Front has launched a multitude of infiltration attempts to breach the SAA’s frontline defensives at this base; however, they have been repulsed on numerous occasions, resulting in heavy losses

The most strategic battle in the Dara’a Governorate is also the most unknown and least reported fight from this front: the firefights taking place at Al-Qasr Al-Aswad (Black Monastery) in the Deir Al-‘Adrass area have been nothing short of brutal. High casualties have been reported from both sides, as this tug-of-war battle intensifies at the monastery and Tal ‘Awad nearby. Among the casualties was the prominent rebel commander of Liwaa Fajr Al-Islam (Dawn of Islam Brigades), Tariq Nawaf Al-Za’abi, who was killed during a firefight a few days ago at the Black Monastery.

On the Al-Quneitra front, the Al-Nusra Front has begun their withdrawal from ‘Ayn Al-‘Arfa and Tal ‘Areed after suffering heavy losses due to their exposed positions on the surrounding hills. Firefights have continued near the provincial capital, where the Nusra militants have attempted to break through the National Defense Forces (NDF) frontlines at the Science Complex on the outskirts of Al-Quneitra City.

Identified rebel fighters killed in the Dara’a Governorate:

1. Mohammad Ahmad Al-Najam
2. Mahmoud Badri Al-Najam
3. Tariq Nawaf Al-Za’abi (Leader of Liwaa Fajr Al-Islam)
4. Qassim Daher (Leader of Liwaa Al-Furqan)
5. ‘Abdel-Rahman Sidayaawi (Abu Dara’a)
6. Mohammad Khaled Salaamat
7. ‘Ammar ‘Issa Al-Kana’an
8. Mohammad Qassim ‘Akeisha
9. Yahya Sa’eed Daher
10. Majid Mounir Moussa Zeina
11. Qassim Mohammad Al-Muslimiyya
12. Mohannad Nader Sa’adaldeen Al-Hareeri
13. Mohammad Nabeel Zeidan
14. Ibrahim Al-Hareeri
15. Tayseer Al-Khataab
16. Ahmad Waleed Al-Khateeb
17. ‘Awad ‘Awad Al-Khateeb
18. ‘Umar Al-Haweesh

Source: Almasdarnews

Back to top button