Iran’s President Urges New World Order at D8 Summit

Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad used the Summit of the Group of Eight Developing Countries (D8) in the Pakistani capital to criticize current world order and call for a new order in which basic rights for all humans are considered.

Addressing D8 Summit in Islamabad on Thursday, Ahmadinejad stressed that the era of capitalism has reached its end.

“A fundamental change and the establishment of a new humane order require firm determination and will and joint efforts by all countries. Each and every one of us must enforce the determination to participate in the process of achieving a sustainable peace, and finally security and welfare for people.”

He emphasized that the recognition of rights is considered as a “basic right for all humans” in this new global order, noting that all human beings can have their legitimate and absolute rights to enjoy a sustainable peace, security, welfare and progress.

During the past decades, we witnessed the emergence of a complicated system of colonialism and hegemony which has affected global resources and taken its toll on all of us, Ahmadinejad stated.

Former colonial powers, who were masters adept at slavery, have now taken up a new face with different slogans to plunder the resources of nations on the basis of offensive teachings, he pointed out.

The Iranian chief executive added that militarism, aggression and violation of national sovereignty of countries have increased in states such as Afghanistan, Iraq and Pakistan.

“All of us seek to put an end to unilateralism, aggression and arms race,” Ahmadinejad said.

He stressed the importance of bolstering cooperation to make use of resources and the economic, political and geographical potentials in order to “play a key role in securing welfare for nations and making reforms in the global order.”

We can strengthen our relations more than ever before and resist against hegemonic powers to protect our nations’ interests, the Iranian president pointed out.

The D8 group comprises Iran, Turkey, Malaysia, Pakistan, Nigeria, Egypt, Bangladesh and Indonesia.

Back to top button