IranMiddle EastWorld News

Sports shooter Foroughi wins Iran’s first Tokyo Olympics gold medal

Iranian sports shooter Javad Foroughi has put on a remarkable display of skills at the 2020 summer Olympic Games in Japan, and managed to snatch a gold medal, the country's first in the games.

The 41-year-old 2021 International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) World Cup gold medalist vied for the top honor in men’s 10-meter air pistol contests at Asaka Shooting Range on Saturday, and recorded an impressive score of 244.8 points to claim the gold medal

Serbian shooter Damir Mikec scored 237.9 points to receive the silver.

China’s Pang Wei won the bronze medal with a final score of 217.6.

The Tokyo Olympics officially kicked off on July 23, and is going to last through August 8. Some preliminary events began on July 21.

The games see karate, sport climbing, surfing, and skateboarding make their Olympic debuts.

Originally scheduled to take place from July 24 to August 9, 2020, the event was postponed in March last year as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

It is now being held largely behind closed doors with no public spectators permitted under the state of emergency.

The Iranian delegation is made up of 66 athletes in 16 sports in Tokyo. 

China is on the top of the medal count table with three (two gold and one bronze).

The Islamic Republic of Iran and South Korea are jointly in the second position with one gold medal each.

India, the Netherlands, ROC – an acronym for the Russian Olympic Committee, and Serbia are in the 4th place.

President-elect Raeisi congratulates Foroughi

Meanwhile, Iranian President-elect Ebrahim Raeisi offered his congratulation to Foroughi, expressing hope that other Iranian athletes in Tokyo would bring honor to their country. 

Raeisi also extended his gratitude to president of the Islamic Republic of Iran Shooting Federation (IRISF) Ali Dadgar as well as IRISF coaches and officials over the outstanding achievement. 

Iranian Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Masoud Soltanifar and Parliament Speaker Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf sent separate congratulatory messages as well.

Back to top button